The Youth, The Rich & The Fake

The strides

Purchases are hosted via our official bandcamp page.

Also by
The Strides


Reggae and Dancehall champions The Strides are touring the East Coast this month to promote their highly anticipated third album ‘The Youth, The Rich & The Fake’. Fronted by the soulful serenades of
Barbadian Reggae Master Ras Roni and the talents and rhymes of Fijian Ltl Gzeus over a rock-solid rhythm and combative horn section, the Sydney 8-piece return with their best release yet. 

With two acclaimed albums under their belt, festival appearances across the country and having graced the stage with the likes of Julian Marley, Tony Allen and Groundation, The Strides’ music faithfully builds on the foundations of classic roots reggae with a hip-hop edge, forging a sound that brings together modern dance hall, ska, dub and reggae pop. The Strides have forged a truly global sound melding a diversity of cultures and instrumentation under the one universal consciousness. 

The new album was written during a weeklong residency at Campbelltown Arts Centre in Sydney’s West and subsequently recorded at U-Live Studios in the rainforest of Ocean Shores, Byron Bay. The relentless rain kept the band locked in the studio, making for an immersive experience that shaped a distinctly cohesive album unlike any of their previous work. 

Whilst showcasing the songwriting talents of the band, ‘The Youth The Rich & The Fake’ features the special guest vocals of incredible future-soul rising star Ngaiire and Sierra Leonean Ragga powerhouse
‘Blacker’ Conteh. Mixed by Sydney’s Ross Ferraro and Brisbane’s Paulie B and later mastered by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, Madlib) in Los Angeles, their new album presents both classic and modern
interpretations of Reggae, with up-tempo ska tracks, Hip-hop beats, Dancehall anthems, as well as politically charged conscious music. The Strides are a new force of urban roots and proud torchbearers
of Reggae music.

1. History
2. Murawina feat. Ngaiire
3. No Drama feat. Ngaiire
4. Rasta Live feat. Ngaiire and Blacker
5. Wizard
6. Firearms
7. One for One feat. Ngaiire
8. Arnhem Land
9. Truth
10. One Heart
11. My Mother My Land
12. Rude Boy

Ras Roni - vocals
Ltl Gzeus - vocals
Nick Garbett - trumpet
Jeremy Rose - sax
Matt Smith - guitar
Danny Pliner - keyboards
Rory Brown - bass
Carlos Adura - drums

with special guests: 
Ngaiire - vocals
Blacker - vocals
Greg Sheehan - percussion

Released March 6, 2015